Databases

Video: Database User IDs and Passwords

  • Log into Canvas > Click into a class > From class menu on left, click SBVC Student Resources > Library

Video: Article Search: Academic, Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed


Quick Start Your Research

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Academic, peer-reviewed, and scholarly articles

MasterFile Complete (EBSCO) Academic, magazine, and newspaper articles

US Newsstream (Proquest) Major daily and regional newspapers and magazines

  • US Newsstream Login: Click on More Access Options; input the Proquest username and password from Canvas (see above)

Credo Reference (Credo) Reliable background information and reference articles

SIRS Issues Researcher (SIRS) Leading issues and trending topics, pro-con articles


NEW! Film and Video Streaming (all academic disciplines)

Alexander Street Academic Video Online (AVON)

  •  AVON Login: Click Log In Through Your Library (at top); click Log In Via Username and Password; input the AVON or Proquest username and password from Canvas (see above)

Database by Source Type

Ebooks

All subjects

Health and Medicine

Literature, History, and Science

News

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) Regional news

US Newsstream (Proquest) Includes full-text Los Angeles Times and New York Times

  • US Newsstream Login: Click on More Access Options; input the Proquest username and password from Canvas (see above)

Databases by Subject

Automotive

Applied Sciences

Business

Career and Vocational

Communications and Pro-Con

Computing

Criminal Justice

Dance

Ebooks

  • See links above!

Education

Education: Elementary and Secondary

Encyclopedia

English and Literature

Environmental and Science

Film and Video

  • Alexander Street Academic Video Online (AVON)
    • AVON Login: Click Log In Through Your Library (at top); click Log In Via Username and Password; input the AVON or Proquest username and password from Canvas (see above)

Health, Medicine, and Behavioral Science

History

Learning Express

  • LearningExpress PrepSTEP 
    • Learning Express Login: Log in with the EBSCO username and password; scroll down to Learning Express Library; register (first time) or log in

Points of View: Current Issues and Pro-Con

Political Science

Religion and Philosophy

Sociology and Social Issues

Theater

Title Index (name of periodical)

Everything EBSCO! 

  • Search all of EBSCOs databases: choose<All Databases<click on the Select button to select all databases<click Continue<Type in your subject once logged in<Use Source Types on left-hand side and More for eBooks, articles, etc.