Choosing A Database

Which online database is right for you?

Video Guides:

How to Access Databases (1:47)
Choosing a Database (3:05) Note: BlackBoard is now Canvas. Passwords are located in Canvas.
How to Choose a Database (1:08)
What are Databases (3:56)
How to Search Databases (5:18)

Comprehensive Databases - A Great Place to Start

picture of reference databasesComprehensive Databases contain articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals on all topics. Academic Search Complete, for scholarly journals and MasterFile Complete, for general magazines, are the most comprehensive databases available. 

Newspapers are another source of comprehensive information and available under our Comprehensive Database collection. 

Social Issues Databases

SIRS Knowledge Source: SIRS is a specialty database that focuses on current events, social and political issues. SIRS contains the full-text of magazines, newspapers and government documents, including Supreme Court decisions. It is an excellent choice if you are writing a position paper or giving a persuasive speech. Need ideas for a topic? Look at SIRS Leading Issues page for suggestions.

Want to think outside the box? Ethnic NewsWatch database provides multicultural full-text titles directly from the presses of ethnic, minority and cultural groups, from 1970 to current.

Literary Information

Literary Reference Center includes journals, magazines and books that contain review essays, book reviews, character analyses, literary criticisms and author biographies for popularly assigned readings in college courses. Academic Search Complete, U.S. NewsStream and Ethnic NewsWatch are other good databases for literary research.

Medical Information

Medical and Nursing Collection, Health Source – Nursing Edition and Medline. These databases contain medical and scholarly information and are a good choice for allied health research. For general health information see  Health Source - Consumer Edition

Other Special Collections Including eBooks

Other Special Collection databases contain publications specifically on Business, History, Education, and Psychology Learning Express is a skill-building database excellent for improving skills like math and grammar. Students register for this resource from the Library website when they are on-campus which enables them to use it when they are at home. 

Ebooks are easy to use and you don't need a special device to use them! The Library Catalog is where you want to go to search for ebooks, or choose from such resources as Salem Press or Omnigraphics*.

Searching all All EBSCO Databases will give you the opportunity to search the EBSCO databases listed above and a few not listed such as Military and Government Collection, and Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia.

*Students need passwords to access the databases off campus. Passwords can be obtained in the library by visiting the Librarian or by logging into Canvas.